COVID has shone a spotlight on brands’ and retailers’ sustainability strategies, with consumers and regulators demanding greater visibility, transparency, and accountability than ever. But while the planet is at the forefront of most sustainability statements, people are still under-represented, making it difficult for the fashion industry to take quantifiable action on vital issues like fair wages in fashion – for manufacturing operators and for stakeholders across the full spectrum of the supply chain.

But there are solutions in the form of accredited, universally-accepted standards, and digital methods of seamlessly connecting design, development, and production in a transparent way. We’ve highlighted some of these tools and methods in The Interline’s prior collaboration with Coats Digital, as well as underlining the importance of building more complete sustainability strategies that tackle both environmental and ethical imperatives. Later this month, we’ll be hosting a discussion with the Fair Wage Association, Hirdaramani Group, and Coats Digital to re-examine those ideas in a world that’s changing rapidly.

Join us for our virtual roundtable ‘Why People Are Still The Missing Piece Of The Sustainability Puzzle – And What Fashion Can Do About It’, March 17th 2022 @ 4PM London, 5PM Paris, 11AM New York, 8AM San Francisco, 11PM Hong Kong.

This roundtable discussion focused on how brands can take measurable action on fair wages in fashion is free to attend. We’re bringing together brand, technology, manufacturing, and industry body perspectives to present practical guidance on how an independent, internationally-recognised labour quantification standard will help fashion turn public commitments and rhetoric into measurable action.

Speakers include:

  • Our own Ben Hanson (Editor, The Interline) – a fashion technology analyst, advisor and writer for more than a decade.
  • Mark Harrop, Founder & CEO of WhichPLM – recognised for his unmatched fashion technology knowledge.
  • Rakhil Hirdaramani, Director of Hirdaramani Apparel – with strong professional skills in Garment Manufacturing, Apparel Technologies and International Business Development.
  • Stuart McCready-Stocks, Brand Director of Coats Digital – whose primary goal is to enhance digital collaboration between key stakeholders in the End-to End lifecycle of garment Design, Development and Manufacture – delivering against consumer expectations, whilst driving a more sustainable future for fashion.
  • Daniel Vaughan Whitehead, Co-Founder and Chair at Fair Wage Association – with experience at European and International organisations, first at the European Commission in Brussels, and then at the International Labour Office (ILO).
Details about the upcoming roundtable discussion, chaired by The Interline, focused on fair wages in fashion.

A recording of the roundtable will be available to view in the near future, but in order to put your questions directly to our panel of experts, we encourage readers who want to take measurable action on the people portion of sustainability to join the live session.

You May Also Like
Read More

Future Fashion Disrupters – The Interline Report

How far has the vision for end-to-end digital transformation been realised? And how prepared are the next generation of fashion talent? We put together a unique event, in partnership with The University Of Manchester and a panel of forward-thinking technology vendors, to find out.
Read More

ideation 2020 – The Interline report

Near the end of last year, The Interline spoke at and attended Gerber Technology's marquee event, ideation, which had been reimagined digitally. With the year behind us, we reflect on what ideation 2020 had to say, and what it meant for online industry events in general.
Read More

Fashion Reset Report 2022

Against a backdrop of historic change, fashion should be pursuing a reset rather than a rebound. A new report makes the case for not just why, but how.